PDA

View Full Version : Immortality

Ethrael
2009-01-04, 10:48 AM
My next campaign might be involving some very, very, very old people, and I was wondering about the theme of immortality in D&D 3.5e.

Are there specific rules? Is it simply a researchable spell? Are there magic items? Or is it simply up to me to determine how and/or why these characters are immortal?

Thanks very much in advance for all your help. :smallbiggrin:

toddex
2009-01-04, 10:51 AM
Spell wise I have limited knowledge but for non cheese im pretty sure lich transformation is the only way to go for immortality.

metagaia
2009-01-04, 10:53 AM
Does reincarnate work? You appear in a young adult body after all, so you can always just kill yourself when you reach the 'venerable' catagory provided you have someone to resurrect you.

Kesnit
2009-01-04, 10:54 AM
You could make it an Epic spell, or one that requires divine ranks to cast. Is it supposed to be a curse, because you could set it up as "this group of people really pissed off the gods and were cursed to walk the earth until XYZ event occurs."

Satyr
2009-01-04, 10:55 AM
If you want immortality, there is nothing better than the Dorian Grey way.

Myou
2009-01-04, 11:06 AM
There's an epic feat that increases your lifespan.

Extended Life Span: Add one-half the maximum result of the character’s race’s maximum age modifier to the character’s normal middle age, old, and venerable age categories. Calculate the character’s maximum age using the new venerable number. This feat can’t lower the character’s current age category.

A character can gain this feat multiple times. Its effects stack.

Ethrael
2009-01-04, 11:18 AM
So I take it it's mostly up to creative ways of the DM to work something out. Thank you all very much, especially the epic feat and the curse idea. I think I've got a good idea of what I'm going to do...

hamishspence
2009-01-04, 11:26 AM
Dragon mag 354 had Ancient PCs article, covering the really old and the immortal.