PDA

View Full Version : What Str do you have to have to wield large weapons?



Roythebattousai
2009-01-06, 09:07 PM
The difference in Damage is quite fantastic.

It's a spiked chain-- 10 lbs, medium sized, 20lbs, large.

What Str do you have to have to use it?

monty
2009-01-06, 09:09 PM
You have to be Large.

Grail
2009-01-06, 09:10 PM
in 3.x, enough to lift it, unless the weapon itself specifies otherwise.

Heliomance
2009-01-06, 09:11 PM
The weight of the weapon has precisely no bearing on the damage, by the way.

monty
2009-01-06, 09:12 PM
in 3.x, enough to lift it, unless the weapon itself specifies otherwise.

Well, I suppose you could use it as an improvised weapon that way, but then you'd take a -4 to attack and it wouldn't do nearly as much damage.

Rei_Jin
2009-01-06, 09:14 PM
From the D20 SRD...


Inappropriately Sized Weapons
A creature canít make optimum use of a weapon that isnít properly sized for it. A cumulative -2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isnít proficient with the weapon a -4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.

The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielderís size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. If a weaponís designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature canít wield the weapon at all.

Assassin89
2009-01-06, 09:16 PM
It depends on what you are carrying and the weight of the weapon.

If you can carry a maximum of 100 lbs. and have 90lbs. of other equipment, you cannot wield a large weapon weighting 11 lbs. or more without being encumbered.

Grail
2009-01-06, 09:16 PM
Well, I took being Large for the Spiked chain as a given, but there was also the question of the subject, which I answered as well.

A Large dagger is an inappropriately sized weapon, it can be used as a dagger, but with a -2 penalty to attack.

Here is the rules from the SRD


Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature canít make optimum use of a weapon that isnít properly sized for it. A cumulative Ė2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isnít proficient with the weapon a Ė4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.
The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielderís size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. If a weaponís designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature canít wield the weapon at all.


so a Large Spiked chain, which is already a 2handed weapon moves up a category and is no longer light, one handed or 2handed, it cannot be used.

.........................sneaky ninja's

Fax Celestis
2009-01-06, 09:19 PM
From this, we can determine that a Medium creature can wield a Huge dagger at a -4 penalty.

...for a d8 of damage, you're better off wielding a longsword.

Rei_Jin
2009-01-06, 09:24 PM
*Nods*

The only time that using such a weapon (A Huge Dagger) is worthwhile is if it has a property that you desperately require. For example, it is the only weapon that, for story reasons, can kill the BBEG.

Eldariel
2009-01-06, 09:33 PM
Get Strongarm Bracers [MiC Pg. something]. They allow you to wield a weapon larger than your own size without penalties. If you want it to be your inherent ability, get your DM to remove the pointless penalty in Monkey Grip for wielding an oversized weapon and pick Monkey Grip.

Kurald Galain
2009-01-07, 04:24 AM
From the D20 SRD...

That's funny. It means that a halfling can wield a huge sword (that is bigger than the halfling!) at only a -6 penalty...

Heliomance
2009-01-07, 04:30 AM
No it doesn't, because it would be something other than light,one handed or two handed.