PDA

View Full Version : I need to make a decision fast

Berserk Monk
2009-01-29, 01:15 AM
So here's the situation: I took an elective this semester that I'm having doubts about. The class is Painting II. I didn't want to take it originally. I wanted to take an illustration elective, but they were all on Thursday which conflicted with my drawing class. I could have taken another drawing class, but my teacher for that is really awesome. So, not being able to take an illustration elective I was left with few options: Painting II, two other studio classes, or a liberal arts class. Painting seemed like the best option. I'm not very good at painting, but I like the medium. I'd figure I get better at it, because, although I don't intend to be a painter, I do want to continue doing it in my free time.

Now after having two classes, I'm having some doubts. I'm not too fond of the teacher. She's kind of condescending and too strict for my liking. The work load already seems too stressful. I fear I'll have to spend far more time working on one piece due to my lack of experience with the medium. I'm not very good at painting (speaking from a profession level), and I think that's going to harm my grade. Just today, my teacher mentioned taking points off one of my assignments because I gessoed it wrong. I fear stupid minor stuff like that will cause me to fail the class. However, one of the biggest issues is the cost of materials. For those of you who have never taken an art class, one paint tube can run as much as $4. One small thing of paint, and I have to have all the major colors. Not to mention a larger pallet, pallet knife, other equipment I'll probably need I can't think of right now, and more paint for when I run out. There's also the fact I took this elective because I thought it would be fun, but I'm not really enjoying it.