View Full Version : [PrC] Get your Rage on

2006-09-20, 03:10 AM
Disciple of Fury

Wherever psionic are common, certain individuals seek to isolate the source or their inner fury through meditation and reflection.
* *Most find, however, that the most powerful of emotions cannot be seperated from the body, although the clarity of logic that comes with a being's higher mind can briefly be surgically distanced from the body and its emotions during times of great fury. *In this way, the body is allowed to run rampant while the higher mind is free to engage in other, more cerebral, pursuits.
* *Those few who learn this skill are known as disciples of fury.
* *Most disciples of fury are multiclass barbarians, usually with levels in the psychic warrior class. *A few psions or wilders are also drawn to this path, however.
Hit Die: d10.

Base Attack Bonus: +8.
Skills: Autohypnosis 13 ranks, Concentration 8 ranks, Intimidate 4 ranks, Knowledge (psionics) 8 ranks.
Feats: Overchannel (or wild surge class feature), Psionic Meditation.
Manifesting: Must be able to manifest 2nd-level powers.
Special: Rage 1/day.

Table 1-1: The Disciple of Fury{table]
Level BAB Fort Save Ref Save Will Save Special Power Points per Day/Powers Known

1st +1 +2 +0 +2 Focused Rage 1/day -
2nd +2 +3 +0 +3 - +1 level of existing manifesting class
3rd +3 +3 +1 +3 Rage +1/day +1 level of existing manifesting class
4th +4 +4 +1 +4 - +1 level of existing manifesting class
5th +5 +4 +1 +4 Focused Rage 2/day -
Class Skills
The disciple of fury's class skills are Autohypnosis, Climb, Concentration, Craft, Jump, Intimidate, Knowledge (nature), Knowledge (psionics), Survival, and Swim.
Skill Points at Each Level: 4 + Int modifier.

Class Features
Focused Rage (Su): Once per day, when entering rage, you may make a DC 20 Concentration check to enter a focused rage, instead. *Because you make this check before entering rage, you do not get the benefit of your improved Constitution score from rage on this skill check. *Like entering a normal rage, attempting to enter a focused rage takes no time in itself, but can only be done on your turn, not in response to someone else's actions. *If you fail the check, you do not enter a focused rage and your daily use is not expended, however you must enter a normal rage.
* *Focused rage works just like normal rage, and grants the usual modifiers to your abilities, except as noted below.
* *While in a focused rage, your higher mind calves off from your base emotions and primal desires. *As a result of this improved focus, you gain a +4 bonus to your primary manifesting ability score for the duration of the focused rage. *This increase does not last long enough to increase your daily power point total, but you do gain bonus temporary power points equal to your manifester level times two. *These bonus power points last only as long as your focused rage and go away when it ends if not spent. *If you belong to more than one manifesting class, you can gain the benefit of this increased manifesting ability score and bonus power points only once, meaning that you increase only one ability score (your choice of which at the time you enter a focused rage) and gain the bonus power points from only one score. *If you belong to more than one manifesting class that uses the same ability score, you do not gain double the normal number of bonus power points. *The increased manifesting ability score increases the save DC's to resist your powers normally.
* *Additionally, for the duration of the focused rage, you gain an additional standard action each round that can be used for any purely mental activity, such as manifesting a power. *This is an exception to the general rule that a character's mental actions are restricted during rage.
* *However, during a focused rage, your body is controlled only by your base emotions - bolstered by the anger and violence of your rage. *Each round during your turn, your body must attempt to attack another creature. *If no creatures are within range of its attacks, it must move so that it can make an attack as soon as possible. *Foes are attacked in preference to allies, but if there are no active foes remaining, your body must attack the nearest creature. *If there are no remaining creatures, it must attack objects and structures.
* *You may not end a focused rage automatically; it lasts for the full duration of your normal rage unless you succeed on a DC 20 Will save to end it prematurely. *This check is a free action but, like entering a focused rage, can only be attempted on your turn.
* *Both your higher mind and your body share the same psionic focus, if applicable. *Your higher mind can coordinate to spend the psionic focus so that your body may benefit from feats such as Psionic Weapon or Instinctive Consummator. *Your higher mind can use its action to regain your psionic focus, if it has been expended (effectively trading its standard action for a move action and utilizing your Psionic Meditation feat). *Likewise, you may still affect your body with powers and abilities with a range of Personal.
* *Your higher mind can also use its action to activate any of your items that require a command thought to activate, but may not activate power completion or power trigger items.
* *At 5th-level you can enter a focused rage twice per day.
Power Points per Day/Powers Known: At 2nd, 3rd, and 4th level, you gain additional powers known and power points per day as if you had also gained a level in whatever manifesting class you belonged to before you entered this prestige class. *You do not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained (bonus feats, metapsionic or item creation feats, psicrystal special abilities, and so on). *This essentially means that you add the level of disciple of fury to the level of whatever manifesting class you had, then determine power points per day, powers known, and manifester level accordingly.
* *If you belonged to more than one manifesting class before taking levels in this prestige class, you must choose which class you add the new level of disciple of fury for the purpose of determining power points per day, powers known, and manifester level.
Rage: At 3rd level, you gain an additional daily use of your rage special ability. *This class feature does not improve the bonuses you gain from entering rage, however, just increases the number of times per day it can be activated.

Lord Iames Osari
2006-09-21, 02:41 PM
Looks good. So you're a fan of the rage + psionics = synergy theory too, huh?

2006-09-21, 08:48 PM
Oh yes, psionics are the cherry on the top of any class combination sundae!

Fax Celestis
2006-09-21, 09:12 PM
I'd raise the save to exit a Focused Rage early to DC 20 or 25. At 10th level (the earliest you can get into this class due to the Autohypnosis req) DC 15 is pretty weak.

Also, I think the best way to get into this class would be to take two levels of Psychic Warrior and grab the Overchannel feat, then go Barbarian for five levels. Three more PsyWar, and then hop on the class.

2006-09-22, 09:16 AM
I'd raise the save to exit a Focused Rage early to DC 20 or 25. At 10th level (the earliest you can get into this class due to the Autohypnosis req) DC 15 is pretty weak.
Yeah, I was basing it off the Frenzied Berserker and working off of memory for the DC - I thought it was 15, but it should be 20. *Thanks for pointing that out!

Edit: Fixed DC, noted what kind of action it is to make the attempt. *Also, noted that, during a focused rage, the character's body may still be affected by Personal-range powers, etc (just to avoid any possible confusion).