PDA

View Full Version : Jade_Tarem's Guide to Savage Play

Jade_Tarem
2009-04-16, 04:48 PM
"Beware the Jabberwock, my son!
The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!
Beware the Jubjub bird, and shun
The frumious Bandersnatch!"

- Lewis Carroll

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Introduction

So yeah. I’m not dead, despite my lack of posting here for a long time.

I'd thought a long time about making a "guide" thread, about the thing I was best at (at least in my group). It seemed like a good idea - I know the rules, I have a lot of experience with monster characters, and people often seem genuinely confused about this or that. But then a whole bunch of guide threads sprang up and in a fit of vanity I decided that I didn't want to be seen as jumping on the bandwagon after the guides to wizards, monks, sorcerers, and the like were created. Also, I didn't know (and still don’t) if someone had done one already, and would make this superfluous.

And then, some time ago in a thread, someone said something along the lines of "The Savage Species Guide is unpopular because it's the DM's worst nightmare." This bothered me - not because he or she was wrong, but because I didn't have an answer for them. I got to thinking about why, and after seeing several mistakes of monster playing later, decided to make this thing anyway. If you find this silly or offensively obsolete or redundant somehow, well, no one is forcing you to read it. If you find yourself confused by the distinction between ECL and LA, or by the difference between Class Levels and Monstrous HD, or by the difference between types and subtypes, or if you wonder why all your friends hate you ever since you started playing that over-templated Mind Flayer, then this is the guide for you!