PDA

View Full Version : Well, I'm a little peeved

Berserk Monk
2009-05-26, 08:01 PM
I just learned about this art contest with a prizes of $1,200, and one grand prize of $3,000. The deadline isn't 'til Sept 1 (plenty of time to create several entrees). Now the reason I'm angry is that the contest seems to be bias against my style. The categories are oil, acrylic, watercolor, and mixed media. The first three are all painting (something I'm not too skilled at). As for mixed media: any 2 dimensional drawing using more than one medium. The mixed media one I can do and half a decent chance at (I'm only a sophomore and I'll probably be competing against thousands, also, I tend to stick with one medium for a piece). The real reason I kind of disappointed is the 2D part. I could easily enter my Rorschach mask made out of chainmail and win first prize. Hell, I'd have the fedora done by Sept 1 so I could enter them together. Oh well. Guess I'll just use some colored pencils and pens to make a drawing. I should practice with those any way. I'm an illustration major after all, but with chainmail I know I'd win something. With drawing, the odds are so good.

I'll may be showing some possible entrees in the arts and craft section of the threads for those who want to look my work. Wish me luck.

Blue Warlock
2009-05-26, 08:12 PM
No offense, but to say that this competition is biased against you for being an art competition that involves painting is well... Just a little silly. I can't draw or paint, so that means winning a competition like this would be out of the question for me. Should I say that this competition is biased against me because I have no talent? It's just the nature of the beast. If you don't like it, don't enter the competition or improve your painting skills.