PDA

View Full Version : Which programming language should I learn?

A Rainy Knight
2009-05-31, 02:22 PM
Since programming once again has not been offered as a class at my school, I was thinking about trying to pick up at least some basic programming skills over the summer. The problem is that I have next to zero starting knowledge on the subject and have no idea as to what programming language to study.

So, Playgrounders, what are your suggestions for me? Which languages would you say are the most useful/easiest to start with?

Lupy
2009-05-31, 02:26 PM
HTML is quite easy and easily self taught. I learned it by taking the courses at W3C schools in fact. I you're interested in web design it's the must have.

If you know HTML, it depends on what you want to do. Python is powerful and intuitive, if you want an object oriented language.

PHP is also quite useful (for web design) and a bit easier than Python.

Tirian
2009-05-31, 03:05 PM
If you just want to dip your toe in the water to get some elementary understanding of structured code, Scratch (http://scratch.mit.edu/) rocks. It is self-contained to the point of seeming pretty juvenile, but like building a suspension bridge with Tinkertoys it will give you the flexibility to learn the fundamentals but have enough structure to be accessible. You don't have to spend the first two months of your programming career worrying about compilers or syntax errors when you should be learning about loop structures and events.

Once you've got that down, there are plenty of useful and easy languages like Python, JavaScript, and Visual Basic out there. The right one for you depends on just what sort of problems you want to solve. But once you make that decision, the learning curve will be three months shorter because you will already be a programmer.

Collin152
2009-05-31, 03:18 PM
I suggest Truespeech, so you can reprogram reality itself.

Mr. Mud
2009-05-31, 03:22 PM