PDA

View Full Version : HERO System: Artificer

Deth Muncher
2009-06-17, 10:01 AM
To shore up some confusion before it starts - This thread will be dealing with HERO System, a very nice d6 system that has absolutely nothing to do with D&D other than what the DM or players bring to it.

Now, a friend of mine said that he wanted to do an Eberron game, but in HERO System. I thought it was a novel idea, so I signed up for it. It's probably only going to be a Super-Heroic (i.e. no items) one-shot or so, so we only got 150 Points to work with. I decided that I wanted to try to build an Artificer, given that they're the core Eberron class. DM says ok. So here's how we're doing it: To cover all of the Artificer's varied powers, we went ahead and picked - you guessed it - a Variable Power Pool, points set at 50. What I need help with, however, is actually CRAFTING the powers, as I'm fairly new to the system. I know there's a chart in the book, which I'll be perusing, but I was hoping some of you might have some experience with this and could help. As per restrictions to the powers, the only ones that I have are: 1. All powers require an OAF (Obviously Accessable Focus), which cuts their cost as an added benefit. 2. No Transforming living matter - the DM explicitly said this because, and I quote, "I don't want the players with access to Baleful Polymorph." 3. All powers subject to DM approval.

So, with that said, does anyone have any pre-existing powers built that are 50 points or less, or does anyone have any advise on how to build them - for utility, blastyness, etc etc.

(Also, apologies for casting Wall of Text to start off the thread.)

kc0bbq
2009-06-17, 04:34 PM
Oops, misread part, rewriting... :P

Couple questions -

Which edition? (I have 3rd, 4th, and 5th around IIRC)