PDA

View Full Version : Homebrew RPG Needs Some Critique

ScribeofAges
2009-06-21, 11:42 AM
Hi!

This is my first attempt at a complete homebrew RPG. I wrote it for my friends who, wonderful people that they are, don't really care for the "sit around and do math and roll dice" roleplaying experience, as they put it. SO, I went and designed this.

They seemed to have fun with it, but I was really hoping for some more gaming-centric community members to have a gander and give their suggestions. What better place than the Fine Forums of the Playground? I've got a PDF that you can download via MediaFire.com, it's completely original with no attachment to any existing d20 system out there.

For lack of a better name, I call it Wyverns, Wings and Wizards.

It's kinda of a fantasy/steampunk/fleet action melange, so it has an element of your classic dungeon-delving party antics and aerial combat situations.

Linky to the game manual: http://www.mediafire.com/?zmzj0j2kv2a

I tried making the gameplay as quick to setup and play and start killing things as much as possible. I even drew pretty pictures in some places!! [You can ignore those, I know how terrible an artist I am.] So DL and share the PDF as much as you want, chop it up, apply the red pen, do as you please. Just would like some feedback very much.

Thanks!

PS - Please forgive if this thread is in the wrong area, I decided to post it here rather than the Player Recruitment area since I'm not looking for an active game... yet. :wink:

Knaight
2009-06-21, 12:25 PM
I love the ships, and I love the setting, but the character part is poorly explained. How does leveling up work for example(is it just gaining more hit dice). If I were you I would heavily revise the classes, removing leveling up, and just adding experience to spend, after all you have the skills. That and I would make hit points practically static.