PDA

View Full Version : Creating a magic item

AdInfinitum
2005-08-29, 01:43 AM
I'm still relatively new to the creation of magic items via the DMG's rules. So I thought I might put up my notes for an item and ask people to skewer my math, my reading of the rules, and various other failings. Experience is the best way to learn...

SRD entry for pricing (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/creatingMagicItems.htm#magicItemGoldPieceValues)

Lying Eyes
Lenses with permanent Glibness (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/glibness.htm) and Mind Blank (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/mindBlank.htm) always active.

Mindblank = 8 (spell level) * 15 (min caster level) * 2,000 (Base cost) * .5 (normally 24 hour duration) = 120,000

Glibness = 3 (Spell level) * 7 (min caster level for bard) * 2,000 (Base cost) * 1.5 (normally 10 min/lvl duration) = 63,000

Combining the two is 120,000 + 63,000 - 15,750 (75% of the second, similar ability) = 167,250.

It would (usually) have to be created sequentially by two seperate builders, but that works...correct?

Does that check out? And the thing that glibness gives the saving throw for, that's prevented by Mind Blank anyway, right?

Abd al-Azrad
2005-08-29, 01:52 AM
Mind Blank needs only be cast 1/day. 8*15*2000/5= 48000.
And how is Glibness a similar ability to Mind Blank? I mean, they can both be used to similar effect, but I think they mean for stuff like, +1 to two seperate saving throws, or +2 to two skills, rather than two different spells of different schools, cast by different people.

Sacrath
2005-08-29, 03:06 AM