PDA

View Full Version : need some help with a book I'm writing.

Mystic Muse
2009-07-31, 11:37 AM
okay. I'm currently writing a book and I need some help. I want to make sure the main character isn't a complete "Marty Stu" or a "life replacement character" or whatever. considering the intelligence of the playground is rather high I though all of you could help.

I can't tell you the plot because it would violate forum rules unfortunately.

I'll give you guys credit for helping me.

13_CBS
2009-07-31, 11:46 AM
This may give you a head start on understanding what a Mary Sue is (http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/MarySue). And once you understand what it is, you can (probably) avoid it.

Jade_Tarem
2009-07-31, 12:00 PM
I'm not a professional writer, and character design is just a hobby for me, but it seems to me that the best way to go about this would be to give your main character the following:

Flaws - and not just goofy little quirks (although he/she could have those too), but actual personality flaws that will hinder him in some way. The seven deadly sins could give you inspiration, but really there are hundreds of things to choose from. I wouldn't give him sloth, though, because that makes for a pretty boring book.

Limits - the more like a superhero your main character is, the more likely it is that he's a marty stu. If your hero has special powers, then those powers need to come with a price. Iron Man and Green Lantern run out of power. Cyclops can't shut his power off. You get the idea. If your character doesn't have special powers, then his limits will be more mundane. He'll get tired, hungry, etc., and injuries will be pretty debilitating. Keep that in mind.