PDA

View Full Version : [4e] Trying to create racial bouses and racial power

Forte
2009-08-10, 08:11 AM
I'm still new to 4e, so I don't have a lot of experience balancing it, so I came here to ask if the following racial bonuses and racial power are on par with those presented in the PHB, etc.

Ability Scores: +2 Strength, +2 Charisma
Size: Medium
Speed: 6
Vision: Normal

Skill Bonus: +2 Athletics, +2 Stealth
Cold Resistance: You have resist cold 5 + one-half your level.
Hardiness: While bloodied, you have a +1 racial bonus to saving throws.
Shrug it Off: You can use Shrug it Off as an encounter power.

Shrug it Off * Racial Power
Encounter
Immediate Interupt * Personal
Effect: When an attack hits you, spend a healing surge. If the attack deals damage, reduce its damage by your healing surge value. If the attack doesn't deal damage, make a saving throw to end its effects immediately.

Shevarash's_Son
2009-08-10, 09:37 AM
if anything its under powered in my opinion you could make the bonus to save a constant

Forte
2009-08-10, 09:43 AM
That was what I had to begin with, but flat bonuses to saving throws seemed to be few, so I wasn't sure if it was appropriate.

edit: my math is terrible today.

Ashtagon
2009-08-10, 11:14 AM
I have a feeling the "shrug it off" power will lead to burning through all the healing surges in a single encounter, leading to five-minute working days, which seems to defeat a lot of what the 4e redesign was all about. Most character options have very limited ways in which you can use up your healing surges without the aid of another character.

It's not necessarily a bad thing, but this may cause issues with party rest-schedule dynamics.

Harley
2009-08-10, 12:20 PM