PDA

View Full Version : 3.5 summoning spell question



talltwin36
2009-09-30, 03:19 PM
In a recent encounter a Salamander Noble summoned a fire elemental. The Noble was killed a few rounds later. Does the elemental stay until the end of the normal spell duration, or does it go with the death of the caster?

msquared

Tavar
2009-09-30, 03:21 PM
In a recent encounter a Salamander Noble summoned a fire elemental. The Noble was killed a few rounds later. Does the elemental stay until the end of the normal spell duration, or does it go with the death of the caster?

msquared

The rules are completely silent on the matter of spells ending when their caster dies. You/your dm should make a decision and stick with it.

RagnaroksChosen
2009-09-30, 03:22 PM
Seeing as its not concentration it would stay.

Starbuck_II
2009-09-30, 03:50 PM
Agreed, only concentration spells end when death happens.

Volkov
2009-09-30, 03:54 PM
The summoned creature would probably carry out your last order, then it would probably be free to do what it wishes for the remainder of the spell.

Rainbownaga
2009-09-30, 07:55 PM
It goes away


A summoning spell instantly brings a creature or object to a place you designate. When the spell ends or is dispelled, a summoned creature is instantly sent back to where it came from, but a summoned object is not sent back unless the spell description specifically indicates this. A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower. It is not really dead. It takes 24 hours for the creature to reform, during which time it canít be summoned again.

Volkov
2009-09-30, 07:56 PM
That's if it is killed. Not if the summoner is killed.

Rainbownaga
2009-09-30, 07:58 PM
Oops, my bad, then it stays :smallredface:

Vortling
2009-09-30, 08:14 PM
I always have them stay. It keeps my players on their toes.