PDA

View Full Version : Help learning japanese

Froogleyboy
2009-10-03, 10:55 AM
Okay, I'm looking to learn a second language and I want to learn Japanese, can someone teach me? I'll give you a cookie :smallbiggrin:

Dogmantra
2009-10-03, 10:57 AM
I can't teach you, but I know the first thing you'll want to do: learn the Hirigana. Make flash cards or something. It's basically the alphabet.

SDF
2009-10-03, 11:07 AM
Then katakana, then sentence structure and words with interspersed kanji in the mix.

I hear the Rosetta Stone program is pretty good if they don't offer classes in your area. You will want some kind of teacher/aid if you plan to take it seriously, as self taught is a rough way to do it and you can learn bad habits and misinformation.

Yora
2009-10-03, 11:10 AM
There are two options to start, I'd say.
- Get a teacher.
- Get a book.

At our University, students can take classes in languages for free, and I hope I can get into Japanese this semester. I don't know about other countries, but in Germany there's a huge network of people teaching about everything to adults on evenings. I'd start looking for something like that in your area first.
There are also a number of good, and probably a much larger number of bad books that can teach you the basics of a language. But without a techer, I don't think it will ever get you really far.

And to master a language, there's only ONE way! Or three ways if you want: Practice, practice, and practice! :smallyuk:
But speaking a language is not the only type of practice you can get. Reading books and watching movies can also help a lot. I got the basics of my english from 7 years at school (most people I know are still really bad after 9) and have never been to an english speaking country. It's all from reading books and watching movies in english.