View Full Version : Anti-magic stacking for purposes of disjunction

2009-10-07, 10:28 AM
Here's a question. If you have multiple overlapping anti-magic fields, does a caster have to roll to disjunct each one individually or roll once to disjunct all of them together? If the former, if you only succeed against some does that mean none of them are disjuncted?

2009-10-07, 10:58 AM
I would think that they would each be rolled to be disjuncted individually.

2009-10-07, 10:58 AM
You also have a 1% chance per caster level of destroying an antimagic field. Each instance of Antimagic Field requires a separate roll. However, these spells cannot protect each other, as Rules Compendium has established that Antimagic Field does not block line of effect, and Antimagic Field does not protect spells inside it, only items.
If the antimagic field survives the disjunction, no items within it are disjoined.

to disjunct each oneThe word you're looking for is disjoin (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/disjoin).

2009-10-07, 01:52 PM
The items are what matter, though.

Thus, having multiple stacking antimagic fields for the purpose of protecting your items isn't a bad idea.