PDA

View Full Version : Bardbarian

shadow_archmagi
2009-11-02, 03:12 PM
So, some time ago, I was playing Dungeons and Dragons Online with some friends, one of them with the username "Barbalute"

Barbalute played a Bard, but my friend suggested he multiclass and take a level of barbarian, making him barbalute the bardbarian witha lute.

So, now, in the current game I'm in, I'm an artificer/factotum6, my teammate is a wizard/cleric6 (gestalt) and I'm thinking of taking Leadership.

While there are only the two PCs, my friend has an army of undead, and I was thinking a Bard-barian NPC could:

1. Buff the small horde (20ish skelies)
2. Provide a bit of tanking.
3. Be a great source of comic relief. Imagine Thog and Elan combined!

EDIT: Oh right I forgot to mention the POINT of the thread:

I've only ever made one bard and that bard was absolutely awful and achieved nothing and I have no barbarian experience.

Gorbash
2009-11-02, 03:16 PM
While there are only the two PCs, my friend has an army of undead, and I was thinking a Bard-barian NPC could:
1. Buff the small horde (20ish skelies)

No, he couldn't. Inspire Courage/Greatness/etc is a mind-affecting ability, to which undead are immune to.

Cieyrin
2009-11-02, 03:20 PM
The only problem I see with your plan is mindless undead aren't affected by morale effects like Inspire Courage and whatnot. You'd need the Requiem (http://realmshelps.dandello.net/cgi-bin/feats.pl?Requiem,LM) feat to do so.

Otherwise, Bardarians are fun and then some. Probably more barbarian than bard is a good mix. The key with the barbarian side is Power Attack and the like to increase damage output to extreme levels. The bard part will probably focus on Inspire Courage, which means things like the Badge of Valor, Song of the Heart, Vest of Legends and other Inspire Courage enhancers.

Them's my 2 coppers. Take as you will.

KitTheOdd
2009-11-02, 04:22 PM