PDA

View Full Version : Help! Advice wanted on psion bad guys [3.5]

Altair_the_Vexed
2009-11-14, 12:44 PM
I'm not familiar with the psionics rules of D&D 3.5. I've got the SRD, and I understand how the rules work, generally... but I have no experience with them.

Now, there's a region of my game world where magic is liable (not guaranteed) to fail (due to Plot). In that region, psionics developed to fill the niche normally held by the full casters - so I have a society where psions and psychic warriors are the wizards and clerics.

Assume everyone is human, and no other races are available. The society is generally neutral, with lawful government, and religious, but follows the disciplines of psionic power, rather than divine power. A real-world parallel culture for flavour could be China in the Song dynasty (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Song_Dynasty) (though the parallels are mostly vague).

What advice for making psionic adversaries for the traditional magic, 11th-12th level PC party can you lovely Playgrounders give me?
What powers and abilities are awesome and useful, what tricks I might be able to use, and that sort of thing. Generally, I like to use a bunch of lower level minions and a PC-level bad guy.

Thanks!

Ecalsneerg
2009-11-14, 12:53 PM
First things first: if psionics aren't affected by this wonky magic zone, does that mean you'll be using the optional rules for psionics and magic not being transparent? If so, psionic foes get slightly tougher, as PCs can't use bonuses vs spells, dispel magic, spell resistance, etc to resist them.

Altair_the_Vexed
2009-11-14, 01:40 PM
First things first: if psionics aren't affected by this wonky magic zone, does that mean you'll be using the optional rules for psionics and magic not being transparent? If so, psionic foes get slightly tougher, as PCs can't use bonuses vs spells, dispel magic, spell resistance, etc to resist them.
Good point.