PDA

View Full Version : [PF] Which Comes First?



Mark Hall
2010-01-28, 11:24 AM
A Svirfneblin is wearing a ring of couterspells. A spell is cast upon the Svirfneblin that matches one of those counterspells. Does the ring counterspell before his SR is checked, or after?

Ernir
2010-01-28, 11:31 AM
From the ring of counterspells:
"should that spell ever be cast upon the wearer, the spell is immediately countered"

Sounds to me like the check is supposed to come as soon as the wearer becomes the target of the spell, not once it has been resolved whether the spell actually has an effect. That is, the ring goes first, in my reading.

imperialspectre
2010-01-28, 11:36 AM
I concur with Ernir. That is also the way that it would have worked in 3.5, so absent a ruling to the contrary, it's probably a safe assumption.

olelia
2010-01-28, 11:46 AM
The rules seem to agree since the spell has to actually "touch" the creature.



Spell resistance has no effect unless the energy created or released by the spell actually goes to work on the resistant creature's mind or body. If the spell acts on anything else and the creature is affected as a consequence, no roll is required. Spell-resistant creatures can be harmed by a spell when they are not being directly affected.

Mark Hall
2010-01-28, 11:50 AM
Kinda what I figured, but thought I'd ask.