PDA

View Full Version : Echoes from the Heavens: The Good Thread

sonofzeal
2010-04-11, 06:34 PM
In honour of Darklord Xavez's thread, I've decided to make a parallel threat for Good characters. I play all alignments in my games, but I have a lot of experience with Good characters in particular. I also study philosophy and ethics in the real world, so hopefully I can bring a bit of that to the table here too.

I can answer question (not all, but many) about the rules surrounding Goodness in D&D, I can give advice about how to play Good characters well, I can provide some guidance for mixed-alignment parties, and I can help resolve ethical dilemmas. Feel free to ask any Good-related question, answer questions other people are asking, and share general musings.

Just to get the ball rolling - does anyone have stories about making mixed-alignment parties work?

cupkeyk
2010-04-11, 07:45 PM
I play a shifter war veteran (Longtooth shifter 11, G) in a 4e eberron game. I try to role play him with a gulf war syndrome. He looked for help by joining the druidic traditions of the eldeen reaches which I paralled with jainism and hinduism. I find killing very difficult. I have advised my dm that I will deal only nonlethal damage to any creature that I have identified as having the natural keyword and any other creature whose nature I can identify as intelligent enough to be convinced into good. I try to keep as much rope as possible so i can tow bad guys into jail. I believe that by preventing my opponents from achieving their dharma(by killing them) and not helping them towards it(by not educating them), I am accumulating negative karma and thereby I am kept from freeing myself from the cycles of reincarnation.