PDA

View Full Version : Gestalt mystic theurge//cerebremancer



Mastikator
2010-04-19, 12:58 AM
I've heard somewhere sometime that it's illegal to take dual progression prestige classes with gestalt characters. Is this true? I can't find it in the SRD, site source please.

If not, if you take this advancement
1- wizard//cleric
2- wizard//cleric
3- wizard//cleric
4- mystic theurge//psion
5- mystic theurge//psion
6- mystic theurge//psion
7- mystic theurge//cerebremancer
...
are you gaining double wizard levels every level after 7th?

Soranar
2010-04-19, 01:00 AM
It's true, from SRD

# A gestalt character canít combine two prestige classes at any level, although itís okay to combine a prestige class and a regular class. Prestige classes that are essentially class combinations-such as the arcane trickster, mystic theurge, and eldritch knight-should be prohibited if youíre using gestalt classes, because they unduly complicate the game balance of whatís already a high-powered variant. Because itís possible for gestalt characters to qualify for prestige classes earlier than normal, the game master is entirely justified in toughening the prerequisites of a prestige class so itís available only after 5th level, even for gestalt characters.

Pluto
2010-04-19, 01:04 AM
are you gaining double wizard levels every level after 7th?
Nope, even if it were legal.

You advance shared class features at the fastest rate.

Eldariel
2010-04-19, 01:04 AM
Gestalt (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/variant/classes/gestaltCharacters.htm):

"A gestalt character canít combine two prestige classes at any level, although itís okay to combine a prestige class and a regular class. Prestige classes that are essentially class combinations-such as the arcane trickster, mystic theurge, and eldritch knight-should be prohibited if youíre using gestalt classes, because they unduly complicate the game balance of whatís already a high-powered variant. Because itís possible for gestalt characters to qualify for prestige classes earlier than normal, the game master is entirely justified in toughening the prerequisites of a prestige class so itís available only after 5th level, even for gestalt characters."

The only hard rule you're breaking. Otherwise, it's worth noting that advancing same feature twice only gains you better of the two advancement, so Wizard//Wizard on a level only ends up with you getting 1 Wizard; one of them is dead.

EDITJAD.

blackmage5242
2010-04-19, 01:04 AM
Even if you allow dual progression, you take the best of the levels. Since both advances wizard level, then you only advance 1 wizard level since it is the best of the 2 PrC. You do not add the same abilities twice.

Damn, Ninjaed.

Godskook
2010-04-19, 01:17 AM
The only hard rule you're breaking. Otherwise, it's worth noting that advancing same feature twice only gains you better of the two advancement, so Wizard//Wizard on a level only ends up with you getting 1 Wizard; one of them is dead.

Its actually two rules:

1.Only 1 prestige class at a time.

2.No dual-progression prestige classes.

The OP's build breaks *BOTH*.

Eldariel
2010-04-19, 01:18 AM
Its actually two rules:

1.Only 1 prestige class at a time.

2.No dual-progression prestige classes.

The OP's build breaks *BOTH*.

They're listed as one item on the rules though, both in PrC limiters. So...yeah, you're right but that's where I'm coming from.