PDA

View Full Version : Minis and glue

valadil
2010-04-19, 03:06 PM
Not sure if this is the right forum for miniatures. Apologies in advance if I guessed wrong.

I've been painting minis for 10 years. I'm a pretty decent painter, but I still suck at gluing them together in the first place. Only last year did I finally manage to attach a mini to a base without attaching myself to my mini.

So last night I picked up one of these (http://campaign-game-miniatures.0catch.com/2579.jpg). The extended arm is a separate piece. I filled the armpit with Games Workshop brand miniature glue and held the arm in place for a solid ~45 minutes (or however long your average Doctor Who episode is). Was the mini attached after the episode? Of course not (otherwise I wouldn't be posting here, now would I?).

So I applied more glue. Instead of holding it in place for another 45 minutes, this time I bound the arm to the giant with a rubber band and braced it with a binder clip. Left him out over night. Got up this morning, took the rubber band off and his arm sagged off.

Obviously I'm doing something wrong. I'm pretty sure I have a bad bottle of glue (I don't remember other bottles ever taking more than 15 min to dry before). It's likely that I'm using too much glue too, but this is a big, heavy arm, and I don't think a little droplet will hold it in place.

Anyway, I wondered if anyone had any tips for gluing minis together? This is my least favorite part of the whole D&D miniature hobby. Every time I do it I swear off minis that aren't a single piece, even though they're more fun to paint.

Are there any tools designed for holding them in place? I'm reluctant to use clamps and binder clips because I don't want to damage the soft metal. Rubber bands are easier said than done, and this is only the second time I've resorted to them. I usually end up lying a mini on its side and balancing the attachable appendage against office supplies or other minis, but there's gotta be a better way.