PDA

View Full Version : A random chemistry question

Fortuna
2010-08-10, 03:33 AM
I'm studying high school organic chemistry at school at the moment (read: I just read the organic chemistry chapter of an old Atkin's General Chemistry book), and I've been wondering about something. Both my teacher and the book proved singularly unhelpful, so I turn to the playground.

First question, which I need the answer to to phrase the second question: if we have a straight-chain hydrocarbon C5H8, in which there are two carbon-carbon double bonds instead of a carbon-carbon triple bond, how do we name it? How do we distinguish in the name between the two structural isomers?

Astrella
2010-08-10, 03:38 AM
I believe, if for example the double bonds are at the ends of the molecule it would be 1,4-dipentene. (It's been a few years since I had to do any naming of molecules, so don't take my word on it.)

Fortuna
2010-08-10, 03:49 AM
That sounds plausible. My next question is significantly more complicated.

Take, for example, 1,2,4,5-tetrachloro-1,4-dipentene. Is it possible to distinguish between the four (by my count) geometric isomers in naming this molecule? If so, how?

Iruka
2010-08-10, 04:15 AM
With geometric isomers, do you mean stereoisomers?

Fortuna
2010-08-10, 04:19 AM
Yes, I think. Geometric as opposed to structural.

Teddy
2010-08-10, 04:22 AM
That sounds plausible. My next question is significantly more complicated.

Take, for example, 1,2,4,5-tetrachloro-1,4-dipentene. Is it possible to distinguish between the four (by my count) geometric isomers in naming this molecule? If so, how?

I counted 3: Cis-Cis, Cis-Trans and Trans-Trans (Trans-Cis is the same as Cis-Trans turned 180 degrees). I'm not sure on how to distinguish them, though

Elder Tsofu
2010-08-10, 04:24 AM
Like this?

Depending on how the substitutes sit on the two double bound C.
E= opposite side
Z= same side (zuzammen)

http://i681.photobucket.com/albums/vv173/Tsofu/1.png

Fortuna
2010-08-10, 04:26 AM