PDA

View Full Version : Stacking Charm Monster?



Tyger
2010-09-01, 06:30 PM
Scenario:

Bard (level 10) casts Charm Monster on big dumb monster - say an Ogre.
Ogre fails save miserably and is now the bard's bestest friend - for the next ten days.
Day 8: Bard casts Charm Monster on his good buddy the ogre, encouraging him to accept the helpful magic! Ogre intentionally fails save.
Day 10: Original Charm effect is over.

Question: Does the second Charm effect remain?

The SRD doesn't really talk about the longer durations of spells, merely that sometimes one effect can supersede another. Any thoughts, preferably with a rule behind them, of what happens on day ten?

Zaydos
2010-09-01, 06:34 PM
PHB page 171/172

Stacking Effects: Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on
attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually
do not stack with themselves. For example, two bless spells donít give
twice the benefit of one bless. Both bless spells, however, continue to
act simultaneously, and if one ends first, the other one continues to
operate for the remainder of its duration. Likewise, two haste spells
do not make the creature doubly fast.

Tyger
2010-09-01, 08:29 PM
Now that is exactly what I was looking for. Don't know how I missed that.

And sweet. That is good news.