PDA

View Full Version : [3.5] Incarnate Construct Golem - How?



login login
2010-09-02, 12:51 AM
So I got to thinking... The Incarnate Construct Template in Savage Species(p120) is a result of the "Incarnate Construct" spell (p67).
They have an example "Incarnate Construct Stone Golem".
How?
Stone Golems have spell immunity to any spell that allows spell resistance, and the Incarnate Construct spell allows spell resistance.
The 3.5 FAQ (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/er/20030221a) states on page 103

"Note that a golem cannot voluntarily lower its magic
immunity so that it can receive a harmless spell, but a golemís
magic immunity does not extend to magic the golem uses on
itself (just as spell resistance doesnít apply to such effects). A
golem can make use of any magic item that works continuously
or is use activated (provided whoever commands the golem is
on hand to put the item on the golem or order the golem to pick
it up). Being mindless, a golem cannot use any item activated
by command, spell, or spell completion."

So... How does one cast either "Awaken Construct" or "Incarnate Construct" on a Golem?

The only solution I can currently see is by building a 1 shot, use activated
item of the spell, e.g. A Large Creature Skull Talisman (FrostFell p112) with the spell in it.
(or a custom wondrous item that the DM has to approve)
And then having the creator of the golem ask it to trigger the spell on itself.
That's going to make it even rarer than ever.

I wonder what the difference is between using "Incarnate Construct" on itself, and "Disintegrate" is? Like a Golem knows the difference, and you could toss a skull under its feet, or tie it to a shield and the golem would be performing the same activity (crushing the skull).

How can you tell if a construct is 'using the item on itself'? Does that rely on the creator's will?

ARG.. And there is my headache.

JeminiZero
2010-09-02, 01:51 AM
Stone Golems (www.dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Stone_Golem) can have their magic immunity removed by the stone to flesh spell.

Gralamin
2010-09-02, 01:53 AM
Illegal builds, in 3.5? No that never happens :smallwink:.

In this case, it is possible, but just ignore inconsistencies in these cases - Something like half the sample PRC characters are illegal.

Cyclocone
2010-09-02, 07:21 AM
A Dweomerkeeper did it.