PDA

View Full Version : Kuthar's Mace [3.5 Item]



Temotei
2010-09-02, 02:28 PM
Jade Phoenix Mace

This warheart (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showpost.php?p=5580531&postcount=1) light mace is filled with the energy of the Desert Wind discipline. Once per encounter, the wielder can use the lingering inferno maneuver, causing a phoenix to rise every round to burn a foe. The maneuver cannot be recovered, but it is usable again after each encounter.

Since the jade phoenix mace is enhanced with a level 5 maneuver, it is treated as a +3 weapon, but it is not treated as inherently magical. The mace is treated as a magic weapon for the purposes of being dealt damage and being subject to saving throws, however, as well as for the purpose of bypassing damage reduction. Detect magic and arcane sight will not register the mace as a magical weapon, nor will dispel magic or antimagic field completely negate the mace's effects--they will only suppress its enhancement bonus to attacks and damage, not the maneuver infused into the weapon.

If sundered or otherwise destroyed, the jade phoenix mace pieces itself together for 1 minute, burning as it does so, dealing 2d6 fire damage per round to every creature within 10 feet. Half of the damage is fire, and the other half is pure arcane energy (untyped damage). At the end of this time, the mace explodes in fire and energy, dealing 10d6 damage to everything within 20 feet. After this, the mace is in perfect condition once more and is once again usable. However, lingering inferno is expended for the rest of the encounter (or until the end of the next encounter).

Strong conjuration; CL 12th; Legendary Battlesmith, lingering inferno; price 40,305 gp.

Vaynor
2010-09-02, 04:11 PM
Does it count as a magic weapon for the purposes of overcoming DR? Does the explosion effect harm the wielder? Also, formatting error on the anti-magic field part.

Pretty cool weapon, though. :smallcool:

Temotei
2010-09-02, 05:58 PM
Does it count as a magic weapon for the purposes of overcoming DR? Does the explosion effect harm the wielder?

Hmm...yes, to both. I might change it so the weapon won't damage the wielder...maybe.


Also, formatting error on the anti-magic field part.

Fixed. :smallcool:


Pretty cool weapon, though. :smallcool:

:smallbiggrin: