PDA

View Full Version : My band has a new single, check it out

Vaarsuvius4181
2010-09-03, 01:22 PM
http://www.myspace.com/whensdayband

I am a drummer of this band called whensday, and we have just about no fans. so i thought i would post something here so you guys can check it out. It is professionally recorded.

Vaarsuvius4181
2010-09-03, 05:41 PM
http://www.myspace.com/whensdayband

I am a drummer of this band called whensday, and we have just about no fans. so i thought i would post something here so you guys can check it out. It is professionally recorded.

Feedback??

thubby
2010-09-03, 05:57 PM
the beat is simple and repetitive, but not unpleasant, which is pretty good for a garage band.

tell whoever wrote the lyrics that stringing together a bunch of words that rhyme (or worse, butchering words to make them rhyme) is not good song writing :smallannoyed:

ideally, you need a better singer... or autotune. but then, bands where that isnt the case are the exception :smallsigh:

Snares
2010-09-03, 06:34 PM
You're the drummer? A few bits and bobs of advice: I think the little syncopated beat on the snare you play during some of the beats doesn't quite suit the sound of the song, I'd drop it; nothing wrong with keeping things simple. As one of my old teachers used to say - "Less is more, and even less is even more," and it particularly applies with this style of music. The fills need a bit of tightening up, and the snare sometimes sounds a bit weak (though that may be the fault of the drum or the production and not you. But if you are hitting it a bit weakly, go for it more!). Otherwise, just generally needs a spot of tightening up, and that's nothing that won't come with practice.

As for the song itself, it's not bad. Agreed that the lyrics sound pretty thrown together though. I liked the little solo-y bit.

thubby
2010-09-03, 07:23 PM