PDA

View Full Version : Making Stuff For Conventions

Deth Muncher
2010-11-29, 01:12 AM
Hey y'all. So, I'm a pretty amateur craftsy person - I'm a really not all that good but quasi-knowledgeable woodworker, pretty crapriffic at sketching unless it's super cartoony or stickfigures (although, as we can all see, stickfigures can still get you major success), and can't sew worth a damn - but I CAN make things out of foam and fuzzballs, and I'm moderately good at painting things (which comes from 40k). Which leads me to my point:

I'm thinking I might want to do some selling of things at some conventions in my area - one of which being an anime convention and one of which being a sci-fi convention. Now, after having attended both of these a few times, I've got a pretty good idea of what could be sellable compared with what I can make - namely, altered Nerf Guns to look like steampunk/character props and/or be modified for better usage, and Katamari balls, as well as miscellaneous props for characters.

My more specific question is - what's the work/payoff ratio for people who do A&C for conventions? I mean, I imagine if you're really good/prolific (not the best word here, but you see what I mean) - i.e. you've got a comic, do prints, etc, versus...well, me, there'd be a difference. But let's say I put in 5 hours and $20 to make 100 Katamari balls. And let's say they all sell, each at $2 a pop. Is that worth it?

I apologize if I'm not quite making sense here, as it's late, and I may edit this for clarity, but hopefully you guys can see what I'm trying to ask.

Domochevsky
2010-11-29, 04:38 AM
Well, the math here is fairly simple in that particular example. By selling all this you get $200, minus $20 for making it, meaning you earn $36 per hour, not accounting the time it takes to sell them.

That's pretty nice, so the difference here is how much you value the time at the Con itself. (And how long it is)

Deth Muncher
2010-11-29, 09:45 AM