PDA

View Full Version : My new OOTS avatar

Aruius
2010-12-23, 06:35 PM
This is my first attempt at creating an avatar and my first time using Inkscape, and I can say that I'm very proud of it :smallbiggrin:!

It was inspired by yldenfrei's rendition of Lien, O-chul, and Hinjo over in the Iron Avatarist thread. Anyways, I'd like to know what you guys think of my efforts, and how I can improve. I'm also looking for how to eliminate the white space behind my avatar, I'm not quite sure how to do that yet. fixed.

Thank you in advance!

Lateral
2010-12-23, 06:41 PM
Arms are weird and facial expression could use work, but other than that it's cool. Make the arms less stubby.
Also, white backgrounds are bad. Either get rid of it, or give it a real background.

You know, there is an SMBG where you rate TPAY's avatar... just be warned; when you go into SMBG's, you may not come out. Especially if you enter the hellish, caffeine-filled abyss that is FFRP.

@V: Don't ask me how, I only critique avatars. I don't make 'em. Although I imagine, if Inkscape works even vaguely like I think it does, you could just do a fill on the background to make it go from white to not there. I think that's usually represented by a white-gray checkered pattern.

But I could be wrong, I don't know how to use Inkscape.

Aruius
2010-12-23, 06:48 PM
I don't exactly know how to remove the white background, that was one of the reasons I made this thread, because it looks terrible. And as for the facial expression and arms, I'll get to work on those and see what I can fix, thanks.

Edit: I made some quick changes, like lengthening his gimped arm and changing his expression some.

Savannah
2010-12-23, 07:26 PM
I don't know why you'd have the white background. I never do when I export an image from Inkscape (and I even just went and checked and I don't see an option to make the background transparent, so it should be transparent by default when you export....)