PDA

View Full Version : Anyone used both the Intuos 4 and the Bamboo?

Mulletmanalive
2010-12-28, 06:31 PM
The VAT [value added tax] is about to go up in Britain so I'm looking for quick answers...

I'm umm-ing and ah-ing over whether i'd be better trading in my old Trust for a Bamboo or whether i'd actually get my money's worth out of an Intuos 4 [medium].

I'm not a bad artist by most standards see here (mulletmanalive.deviantart.com) though I have a ways to go to be good and i'm not sure if the investment is worth it for top-line hardware at this stage in the game...

Domochevsky
2010-12-28, 11:15 PM
Hm, only used the Bamboo, but it has yet to fail me. (after... what, 2 years now?)

The Intuos is bigger, but bigger tends to mean less sensitive, if i remember correctly. Also, i find the bamboo's size to be more than sufficient, as most of the time you'll stay in the center area anyway. The corners of mine are barely used. (It also costs only 60 bucks, as opposed to Intuos' 200.)

So... yeah. Bamboo has my vote. :smallsmile:

Trazoi
2010-12-28, 11:23 PM
The Intuos is bigger, but bigger tends to mean less sensitive, if i remember correctly.
I've only got an Intuos 3 and a Graphire, the generation behind, but the Intuos is more sensitive by a factor of two. I haven't looked into the Bamboo but my hunch is it would be similar given the target markets. The Graphire/Bamboo is for more hobbyist/casual/non-art business work while the Intuos is the next level up for hardware.

That said, I found the Graphire perfectly good for drawing and if it wasn't too small it would have been perfectly acceptable. I got an A5 Intuos because I wanted a slightly bigger tablet plus at the time I could use an educational discount that made it fairly cost effective. If you're at school or college it's worth having a look into whether you've got a similar option.