PDA

View Full Version : Plot ideas?

Kroozer101
2011-05-09, 01:53 PM
I'm a prolific writer, who just lacks the courage to submit anything. I try for a story once a month (about as much as my schedule can stand), and I think it's time I sent something in. I have a setting in mind, a few character ideas, and... no plot. None. That's what I'm here for. I'd like some ideas. I think I have enough for a longish story/ a good sized novel. It's a setting that has places to go.
The setting is a futuristic America, not too far away. 2% of the population controls 99.5% of the wealth, leaving the rest to fight for the scraps. The city I have in mind is either San Francisco or LA, depending. It's big, complex, and it has room for lots of characters. Go to work, Idea Elves!

leakingpen
2011-05-09, 02:33 PM
I would want to at least have a sketch of your characters and where they are in the world to know proper plot.

also, have you considered serializing your work online?

jerriecan
2011-05-09, 02:39 PM
There's a simple formula for stories: Story = Character + Conflict.

Sounds like you've got at least some of the characters in mind, and the setting sounds like there's lots of potential conflict. It sounds like you just need a way to bring the two together.

And don't try for the huge opus from the start - just tell a story, then another, then another. Maybe with the same characters, maybe just in the same world. Soon your characters will be getting into all sorts of trouble on their own that you never saw coming, and boom - you're off on an adventure.

Best of luck!

Jerriecan

Kroozer101
2011-05-09, 02:46 PM
I would want to at least have a sketch of your characters and where they are in the world to know proper plot.

also, have you considered serializing your work online?
No, I haven't. That... might work. I'll post my character sketches when I get a chance, but they're very rough, and any character ideas would be much appreciated, as well.