PDA

View Full Version : Who is your daddy, and what does he do?

Atcote
2011-06-11, 01:37 AM
... Except not really 'who' he is. More just what he does. And maybe not even your daddy, mums are okay too.

Basically, what did your father, mother or both do for a job/career, and how do you feel that has affected you (if at all)?

My father was a primary school music teacher. I don't think this has affected my choice to get into teaching myself (although it may have), but did cultivate in me an usually appreciation of the importance of music over its construction (I'm an abysmal composer). And my mother was a librarian, but I don't know if that's affected my passion in reading. I do love to write, however, and it did encourage me to emulate her near encyclopedic knowledge in the respective field (for her, books, obviously, for me, well, 'media' would be the oh-so-too vast term for it).

EDIT: I'm not just talking about how they influenced your occupation; your personality or interests or anything that this may have had an impact on counts too!

Title Reference Disclaimer: Please no references to gynecologists, unless that's actually what they did.

Mikhailangelo
2011-06-11, 04:00 AM
My father is a toolroom manager in a factory

I see no possible connection with this and my own position (I'm a law student)

RabbitHoleLost
2011-06-11, 04:24 AM
My dad does... stuff. I'm still not really sure, and he's explained it to me several times.
He works for a company called Xeta, which, as I understand, manages phone and computer networking in businesses like hotels and hospitals. My dad himself is a sales representative. That is to say, he gives quotes and is in phone conferences all day.

It is entirely unrelated to my position as a pharmacy technician.

Serpentine
2011-06-11, 04:25 AM