PDA

View Full Version : Bullrush clarification



3Power
2011-06-22, 06:42 PM
Is the first step in a bullrush actually making an attack roll? or do you begin with the strength check? The confusing line is "You can make a bull rush as a standard action (an attack) or as part of a charge. "

Fax Celestis
2011-06-22, 06:46 PM
No.


Bull Rush

You can make a bull rush as a standard action (an attack) or as part of a charge. When you make a bull rush, you attempt to push an opponent straight back instead of damaging him. You can only bull rush an opponent who is one size category larger than you, the same size, or smaller.

Initiating a Bull Rush

First, you move into the defenderís space. Doing this provokes an attack of opportunity from each opponent that threatens you, including the defender. (If you have the Improved Bull Rush feat, you donít provoke an attack of opportunity from the defender.) Any attack of opportunity made by anyone other than the defender against you during a bull rush has a 25% chance of accidentally targeting the defender instead, and any attack of opportunity by anyone other than you against the defender likewise has a 25% chance of accidentally targeting you. (When someone makes an attack of opportunity, make the attack roll and then roll to see whether the attack went astray.)

Second, you and the defender make opposed Strength checks. You each add a +4 bonus for each size category you are larger than Medium or a -4 penalty for each size category you are smaller than Medium. You get a +2 bonus if you are charging. The defender gets a +4 bonus if he has more than two legs or is otherwise exceptionally stable.

Bull Rush Results

If you beat the defenderís Strength check result, you push him back 5 feet. If you wish to move with the defender, you can push him back an additional 5 feet for each 5 points by which your check result is greater than the defenderís check result. You canít, however, exceed your normal movement limit. (Note: The defender provokes attacks of opportunity if he is moved. So do you, if you move with him. The two of you do not provoke attacks of opportunity from each other, however.)

If you fail to beat the defenderís Strength check result, you move 5 feet straight back to where you were before you moved into his space. If that space is occupied, you fall prone in that space.

All you do is move into their space, and then shove.

Cog
2011-06-22, 06:50 PM
In fact, I'd say that's one of the things that helps push Dungeoncrashers up by a tier; it gives Fighters an easy way of getting around not only AC but a lot of miss chances as well.

3Power
2011-06-22, 07:10 PM
Ok, but I have a second question, thus far when bullrushed into anything the defender has ended up knocked prone, but upon reading dungeoncrasher, does this not apply to walls?

Fax Celestis
2011-06-22, 07:14 PM
Ok, but I have a second question, thus far when bullrushed into anything the defender has ended up knocked prone, but upon reading dungeoncrasher, does this not apply to walls?

That doesn't happen normally. You only knock prone on a bull-rush with certain feats or features, such as Shock Trooper's Domino Rush. Without Dungeoncrasher or Domino Rush, shoving someone into an object or another creature just halts their movement.

Metahuman1
2011-06-22, 07:36 PM
Ok, Since were talking Bullrush, I actually had a couple of questions.

If I took proficiency with a reach weapon, spiked chain is popular so let's say that, then took the Dungeoncrasher variant and the Knockback feat form Races of Stone, would I then be able to make an attack of opportunity on an opponent that moved into my reach, and make that attack of opportunity a Bullrush with the Knockback feat, and then use the Knockback's Bullrush too get the Damage form Dungeoncrasher? In effect, causing all of the aforementioned feats and class features to function at once and getting them too all offer then benefits too me?

3Power
2011-06-22, 07:40 PM
That doesn't happen normally. You only knock prone on a bull-rush with certain feats or features, such as Shock Trooper's Domino Rush. Without Dungeoncrasher or Domino Rush, shoving someone into an object or another creature just halts their movement.Regarding shock trooper, do those free trip attacks provoke AOO and the like?

Fax Celestis
2011-06-22, 07:41 PM
That's a quick one. Yes.


Regarding shock trooper, do those free trip attacks provoke AOO and the like?

What? Getting knocked prone doesn't provoke. Standing up does. As far as knocking them over, uh. The feat doesn't say it doesn't, so it does. Unless it's in the CW errata or something.

3Power
2011-06-22, 08:09 PM
That doesn't happen normally. You only knock prone on a bull-rush with certain feats or features, such as Shock Trooper's Domino Rush. Without Dungeoncrasher or Domino Rush, shoving someone into an object or another creature just halts their movement.Regarding shock trooper, do those free trip attacks provoke AOO and the like?

Fax Celestis
2011-06-22, 08:13 PM
Regarding shock trooper, do those free trip attacks provoke AOO and the like?

They don't say they don't, so they do.