PDA

View Full Version : All About Therapists: Because choice matters

DabblerWizard
2011-07-22, 01:31 PM
Hey folks.

I decided to write a piece about the different kinds of psychotherapists that are available in the U.S. Some of this may apply to other countries, but I wouldn't know for sure.

This clarification is meant to provide people with a broad understanding of what their potential options are, in case you're thinking about therapy for yourself or someone you care about.

You can expect the views stated below to be significantly impacted by my own interpretations. I am, however a graduate student in counseling, and I've done some significant reading on these topics, since they interest me and have much to do with the field I'm studying towards.

I'm not offering any services or anything like that. This is partially because I don't yet have the credentials to make claims of being a professional of any sort.

However, I'd love to hear about other people's thoughts and experiences with therapists, or if you're in the field, your views on what it means to be X kind of therapist.

Concerning forum rules This thread is not an attempt to advertise any service by me or anyone else. I also am not presenting any professional "advice".

My aim is to talk primarily about psychologists, counselors, and psychiatrists. I'll be mentioning a bit about social workers.

Just to shorten the amount that I write, I won't be mentioning other significant clinicians like marriage and family therapists, creative arts therapists, animal assisted therapists, or psychiatric nurses.

Psychiatrists

Sometimes confused with psychologists, psychiatrists are medical doctors (usually MDs) with specialized training in psychiatry.

Decades ago, psychiatrists used to be the ONLY practitioners that practiced therapy. They were almost all trained in psychoanalysis at that point.