PDA

View Full Version : Brand new tp 4th ed

DefKab
2011-07-23, 02:13 PM
So, like the title says, Im brand new to fourth Edition. Ive been reading it over, prepping for a game tomorrow, and checking out the forums and have gleaned that its pretty evened out compared to 3.5, but Id like some definite answers.

Are there tiers here? I cant see Wizards being top dog anymore with their spellcasting times, and druids are just fluff now... So what to do you guys think about its balance?

Whats a good class for a new player breaking in? I got the PHB I, II, and III, and a few other books, so Ive got the idea of most of them, but which do you think is a good break in?

Skills seem pretty even across the board now... Is a skill junkie a necessary or even viable build anymore, what with the equalized trained skills?

I have so many questions...

Ramien
2011-07-23, 02:31 PM
I can't really speak as to tiers, since things are a lot more evened out, but every class has at least a shot at being effective, depending on build.

I can't give an answer as to what a good class for a beginner is, because it depends a lot on what people want to play. That said, most striker classes offer the most straight forward playstyle - it's mostly a matter of figuring out how to make sure you get your bonus damage each round.

You can still skill junkie to a degree through judicious applications of skill focus and other feats that give bonuses to individual skills, or play a bard and end up effectively trained in all skills, so you have something to contribute to any situation.

If you haven't taken a look through it yet, borrow or look through a copy of the Player's strategy guide - it gives a bit of different optimization options and ways to think about building characters towards different goals.

NecroRebel
2011-07-23, 02:57 PM