PDA

View Full Version : Way too much? (I'm new to 4th Edition, in dire need guidance)

Sariusmonk
2011-11-07, 11:23 PM
I hope this hasn't been discussed over and over again, as I've had a brief search and cannot find any results.

A brief summary of what I'm about to write / explain is as follows:

I've just started D&D 4th edition as a DM having never really played before, with 4 players who have also never played before. We have The Red Box, the "Essentials" Monster Vault, Dungeon Master's Guide, Heroes of the Fallen Lands and Heroes of the Forgotten Kingdoms. For some reason we also have the 4th Edition "Underdark" book. We've finished the Red Box and I'm about to set them free into the world. I've watched Youtube video's for advice, read the books, read forum posts, watched *everything* Chris Perkins, yet I don't know how to DM properly, the thought overwhelms me. There's too much to read and to much to learn, what do I do?

In full my concerns are this (With Bold highlights on the key concerns):

As briefly mentioned, we have the books, we have finished the Red Box. I feel like with their set dungeon using 4th edition, it's gone okay, the way the game plays feels that the combat is one of the centrepieces and needs planning and preparation to feel fun.

At the next session the group will be resurfacing from the dungeon and visiting for the first time "Fallcrest" to return the magic box to the dwarf Traevus.

Bear in mind at the moment, everything we've used is Essentials and Red Box. My first big concern is;
1. How do I handle DM'ing Fallcrest for the players? It seems a rather big city with a lot of things for them to explore, I don't feel I can commit to memory enough of the details to let them just free roam, yet I really don't want to make them feel they have no control. I've never seen any examples of DM's letting players in a town area. So I have no idea how to handle this. How do you manage DM'ing a town?