PDA

View Full Version : Suggest a Fantasy Novel/Series

Monkeylancer
2012-07-31, 02:42 PM
Hello Playgrounders,

Not quite what I envisioned what it would be my post here, but a fast approaching reading material shortage is encroaching upon me for a visit to a cottage in a few weeks. So I was hoping you guys may suggest something interesting.

In case the weather is crappy I'd like have a good fantasy book with me, and I've been visiting the fantasy sections of a few book stores to inspire me, but I'm not good at impulse buying.

I recently finished Elric of Melnibone, but I'm having a hard time finding Sailor of the Seas of Fate without resorting to ordering it online, so thats pretty much a right off. And just prior to that I've read a few Steve Erikson Malazan books of the Fallen which I enjoyed.. hrrmm really I\m pretty open to any suggestions as what may be obvious books to some I may not have read necessarily.

So if you've read anything recently that you'd like to suggest I'd love to hear it as I'm grasping at straws.

Thanks in advance

Eldan
2012-07-31, 02:44 PM
The Dresden Files are always good for a few rainy days. The first few are a bit weak compared to the later ones, but they are all short and fast paced, so that won't keep you long. They are funny and action-packed in most places, and then suddenly, sometimes, quite shockingly tragic when you least expect it.

Weezer
2012-07-31, 02:49 PM
If you like Erikson's Malazan series, give Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series a go. It's epic, low magic fantasy with a focus on intrigue, war and plotting. Very, very good.

Also Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss has the most beautiful prose I've ever come across in a fantasy novel. Well written, engaging, fascinating characters, well done magic system, it's great. There is also a sequel which is good, but not as good as the first.

Emmerask
2012-07-31, 02:58 PM
Yes Dresden Files is a very good suggestion especially if you like urban fantasy.