PDA

View Full Version : I finally got Linux working!

Amridell
2012-09-11, 08:29 PM
After months of using Windows (which is good, but not AS good, IMO), I finally get my Linux working. I had wireless issues, but I had someone who works in computers to look to (looking for a job in computers), and I got it working, and learned a lot. So...yeah. Any fellow Penguins in the Playground?

Haruki-kun
2012-09-11, 09:01 PM
Former penguin. Ran Ubuntu for two years, then I switched to W7, then to Mac. I'm an animator so I require a lot of commercial software that won't run on Linux and Mac was best for my needs. But I did enjoy my time running Ubuntu, personalizing it was a lot of fun.

What distro are you running?

peterpaulrubens
2012-09-11, 09:13 PM
I much prefer LInux to Windows. I'm posting from my Ubuntu machine right now actually, though I'm connected to it from my Win7 laptop via NX.

If I didn't need to run Sql Server Management Studio at $work, I could get away with my CentOS machine as my primary workstation. But I can't. :smallyuk:

valadil
2012-09-11, 09:42 PM
Congrats! I've been using Linux primarily for just under 11 years. These days I mostly use Debian stable (I don't like things breaking unless I tell them to break), but I have Ubuntu at work since my work laptop needed newer drivers and I wanted to see what all the fuss was about Unity (I don't much care for it).

Inglenook
2012-09-11, 09:45 PM
I love how Ubuntu looks and runs, but I a sadly require a lot of fiddly little programs that are Windows only. :smallfrown:

TSGames
2012-09-11, 09:47 PM
Congratulations on your first Linux install!

What version and distro are you running?