PDA

View Full Version : Please Critique my homebrew Race

zzuxon
2012-09-30, 08:34 PM
I decided to try my hand at making a homebrew 3.5 race. I've never done this before, so I'd appreciate feedback. I made a race called the Ood. Kudos to anyone who can tell me what show the Ood are from! The setting they are in is one I'm trying to make called Trifecta. In it, 3 planets orbit each other in fairly close proximity, and the group orbits a star. The Ood are from Yorin, which is basically where I've stuck all the aberrations, plus Gith and Mind Flayers. There are thousands of naturally occurring portals connecting the 3 planets.
The Ood's description references a Psychic class, which is a homebrew class I found on the interent. There are some alterations. Here it is:
http://dungeons.wikia.com/wiki/Psychic_(3.5e_Class)

Physical Description:
Ood are humanoids with pale, hairless skin, that is always slightly moist. It's texture is stiff and leathery, very different from that of humans. They have small red eyes that point at a drastic, near vertical angle. Their mouth is not mobile, it is a stiff hole out of which hangs approximately 15 tentacles. Their hands have 3 fingers and a thumb, as well as a discolored sensitive pad on their palm. They look somewhat like Mind Flayers. They have larvae, and they look like large leeches with Ood heads for most of their childhood. Their most striking feature is the fact that, out of their mouth among their tentacles comes a biological cord. On the end of the cord is a small second brain that needs to be almost constantly supported, either with a hand or with a specialized pocket all Ood clothing has. When the second brain touches the pad on their hand, they gain access to most of their wide array of natural Psychic powers. They hail from the planet Yorin.

Personality: