PDA

View Full Version : The Shaper (3.5 base class, WIP)

lunar2
2012-10-22, 01:16 PM
I just started playing Geneforge a few days ago, and now I want to make a class for it.

so, here's what i'm thinking so far.

D4 HD, 1/2 BAB, good will saves.

class skills: bluff, concentration, craft, decipher script, diplomacy, disable device, knowledge (any), open lock, profession, search, use magic device.

skill points 6+

weapon and armor proficiency: simple weapons + baton, light armor, shields (but not tower shields).

essence: as Psion's PP, Int based.

class features:

shape items (Su): a shaper can spend essence to shape various items to aid her in her adventures by expending essence. shaping an item is a swift action.

Living Tool: Living Tools are single use items that count as masterwork tools when making a skill check, providing a +2 circumstance bonus to the check. they cost 1 essence to create. by spending 5 additional essence, a living tool can grant the ability to use a class feature or feat related to the skill it is made for, such as trap finding, skill mastery, or the track feat. additionally, each additional point of essence spent on creating a living tool increases the circumstance bonus granted by 1, to a maximum additional bonus equal to the shaper's intelligence modifier.

Baton: costs 1 essence (see baton weapon description below). a shaped baton comes preloaded with 6 thorns, and dissolves once all the thorns have been fired. a shaped baton can be enhanced (as a magic weapon, see DMG), by spending 1 essence point per 1,000 GP of the base price of the enhancements (so, a +1 flaming baton costs 9 essence to create). a shaper can add a total enhancement equal to 1/2 her shaper level, round down.

Shield: costs 3 essence. creates a wooden shield (light or heavy) that lasts for 1 minute per shaper level. can be enhanced using the same formula and restrictions as a baton.