View Full Version : Evilish Dark Knight Class

2006-11-12, 04:49 PM
Another creation of mine with the Class COnstruction Engine by Shadowcraft. Table is once again messed up, all I can say is it looks all right on word. Oh well. What do ya think?

Dark Knight

Adventures: Dark Knights treats everything seriously. They often refer to adventures as quests like paladins. Unlike paladins, dark knights don’t fight for their ideals but fight for their god. Though they may at times act in their own best interests, they will not disobey “express” orders from their chosen deity.
Characteristics: The dark divine powers that flow through the heart and soul of a dark knight gives them unholy powers. It renders him immune to disease, fear, and poisons. He can manipulate his energy to heighten his skills and cast evil spells. It is even said that the most powerful of them can’t be killed.
Alignment: Dark Knights must be lawful evil. Change of alignment causes loss of all skills, abilities and spells. However all already incurred, one-time abilities remain.
Religion: A major niche for the Dark Knight. They are extremely devout. They must pray nightly before bed for one hour to receive spells. They’re deities are most often: The Reaper, Nakor, Harth, and Serengo. Dark Knights are scrupulous in observing holy days and keep up with church politics.
Background: Unlike a paladin, one can choose to be a Dark Knight. By showing fear and unscrupulous obedience a dark god may accept you. There have been cases when a child was selected at birth and then raised by unholy clerics to be a Dark Knight. Other Dark Knight are trained as Squires by the older and more experienced dark Knights. It is so common a profession that the reason they run no governments is that there is a lot of infighting among Dark Churches, and where they represent the most trained and martially inclined, they are often the first to die.
Races: Dark Knights are almost always human. With their high ambitions and low morals the human is the perfect malleable tool an evil deity needs. Half elves that resent both races of their heritage often become Dark Knights. Half orcs don’t often become dark knights due to they’re lack of determination. Dwarf, gnome, and halflings Dark Knights are unheard of. Among the savage humanoids only the drow are common dark knights. In fact a male drow favored class is Dark Knight.
Other Classes: Dark Knights often associate with other classes to further their own ends. However sometimes lasting friendships are born. Dark Knight love to work with Rogues, Blademasters, clerics, and fighters. They mistrust wizards and sorcerers because they share similar powers but have different methods of achieving them. They find Rangers, Druids, and Bards out of date and useless. They find it ironic and amusing to work with paladins, but as soon as the paladin finds out who they are, they will not work with the Dark Knight.

Game Rule Information:
Dark Knights have the following statistics.
Abilities: Strength is important to dark knight due to their high involvement in melee combat. A wisdom score of 15 or higher is needed to get access the most powerful Dark Knight spells, a score of 11 or higher is required to cast any spell.
Alignment: Always Lawful Evil.
Hit Die: D10
Class Skills: Concentration (con), Craft (int), Diplomacy (cha), Handle Animal (cha), Intimidate (cha), Religious Knowledge (int), Move Silently (Dex), and Ride (dex).
Skill points at 1st level: (2+Int modifier) x 4
Skill points at each additional level: 2+Int modifier
Weapon and armor Proficiency: Dark Knights Are Proficient with all Simple and Martial Weapons, with all Types of armor and with Shields.

Level Base Attack Fort Save Ref Save Will Save Special 1 2 3 4 5
1 +1 +2 +0 +0 Detect Good, Dark Grace, Tainted Body - - - - -
2 +2 + + + Living Fear - - - - -
3 +3 + + + - - - - -
4 +4 + + + 0 - - - -
5 +5 + + + Clad in Shadows 0 - - - -
6 +6/1 + + + 1 - - - -
7 +7/2 + + + 1 - - - -
8 +8/3 + + + 1 0 - - -
9 +9/4 + + + 1 0 - - -
10 +10/5 + + + Special Mount 1 1 - - -
11 +11/6/1 + + + 1 1 0 - -
12 +12/7/2 + + + 1 1 1 - -
13 +13/8/3 + + + 1 1 1 - -
14 +14/9/4 + + + Tainted body (control disease) 2 1 1 0 -
15 +15/10/5 + + + 2 1 1 1 -
16 +16/11/6/1 + + + 2 2 1 1 -
17 +17/12/7/2 + + + 2 2 2 1 -
18 +18/13/8/3 + + + 3 2 2 1 0
19 +19/14/9/4 + + + 3 3 3 2 1
20 + 20/15/10/5 + + + Living Death 3 3 3 1 1

Class Features:
Detect Good: at will, the Dark Knights can detect good as a spell like ability.

Dark Grace: A dark Knight applies his charisma modifier (positive or negative) to all saving throws.

Tainted Body: A dark Knight is immune to all diseases and poisons, including magical ones. At 9th level a dark knight may choose to become infected by evil magical diseases if he encounters them. Then he can rid himself of it at will. He retains his thoughts and motor functions.

Living Fear: At second level the Knight is immune to fear (magical or otherwise). All non-allies within 10 feet gain a –2 moral penalties against fear effects at a will saving throw of DC 10+Dark Knights Level

Clad in Shadows: Beginning at 5th level the evilness of the Knight is so tangible that it turns all clothing armor shield and weapons black over a period of three days. Magical items are allowed a saving throw with DC 10+Dark Knights level. Intelligent items may choose whether or not to take on this aspect. They need not make a saving throw. He thereafter has a +10 to hide checks.

Spells: Beginning at sixth level a knight of darkness gains the ability to cast a small number of domain spells. He may choose from the domain of evil and one of his god’s domains, determined when character is created. To cast a spell a dark must have a wisdom score of at least 10 + the spells level. Dark knights bonus spells are based on wisdom, and saving throws against these spells have a difficulty class of 10 + the spells level + wisdom modifier. His caster level is one half his class level.

Special Mount: A dire wolf steed that will follow the Dark Knights commands without question now serves the Dark Knight. The creature and the Knight share a telepathic bond.

Living Death: The Greatest Dark Knights are said to be beyond death itself. When a dark Knight dies, He immediately assumes the form of a wraith as shown on the monster manual. He may return to his regular form by having the spell regenerate cast upon him.

2006-11-18, 01:13 AM
what exactly is the point of changing the colour of a weapon? a black sword kills just as good as a shiny one. i have always wanted to play the knight in tarnished armor, but this is better. create a PrC that has the dark knight "see the light" like the blackguard is for the paladin.

2006-11-18, 01:40 AM
The game portion of this is he now has a +10 to hide. Mostly it was just for looks though.