PDA

View Full Version : How do you make/maintain a houserule compendium?

Larkas
2013-05-16, 02:45 PM
Pretty much what the title says! I've been meaning to make a houserule compendium to facilitate information access to my prospective players and to organize and standardize those rules for myself. I've been considering using some sort of Wiki software, as I have some experience with MediaWiki, but while that will certainly keep things organized for me, I don't know how accessible the information would be to the players without some very specialized tables of content. I want to keep things easy, not make character creation a chore involving constant cross-referencing (D&D example: "Oh, I want to use X spell. Eeep, I have to check if it's been banned/modified."). It would also be specially nice to let the players know in advance what has been buffed, since a less-than-stellar option that would rarely be considered in a RAW game could now be a worthy choice!

Do you guys have any experience with this? Any pointers or pieces of advice?

PS: As a side note, I'd wager that making some particularly nice pieces of homebrew available in such a compendium would not only be a method of preemptively accepting them into your game, it would also be a good way to make the players aware of it, even encouraging its use, since you would be making them "semi-official" to the campaign of sorts. That's another plus in my book.

Rhynn
2013-05-16, 03:15 PM
RTF file, BOLDED CAPITALS for topic headers (COMBAT, etc.), bolded subheaders for specific entries (Shields, etc.), short description of rule.

The secret, of course, is not having a lot of rules replacements or changes (starting with a simple system helps), but mostly using rules additions. Most of the time, when I come up with a replacement houserule, I abandon it because I doubt I'd even be able to keep track of it, but using rules additions is easy, because they're for things that didn't have rules.

valadil
2013-05-16, 03:27 PM