PDA

View Full Version : Help with Half-____ Templates

NowhereMan583
2013-06-14, 03:03 AM
On the grounds that having "half-elf" and "half-orc" as races instead of templates is kind of nonsensical from an in-universe perspective, I decided to put together "half-" templates for all the playable races in the setting for the next campaign I'm running. (With the intent that my players could, if they so desired, roll up a half-goblin gnome or some such thing.)

Unfortunately, I'm somewhat of a novice at this whole homebrewing thing, and I've never done templates before, so I'm having some difficulty. I wrote up the ones I needed, but I have a nagging suspicion that I've somehow done it wrong.

So, here they are -- I was hoping some of you more experienced homebrewers could explain any places I've gone wrong, or possibly point me to a source that did them better. (I did some Googling before I started crafting these, but I couldn't find any premade half-elf/orc/whatever templates.)

Half-Orc:
Size: Medium
Type: As base creature
Speed: As base creature
Special Qualities:

Darkvision (60ft)
Light Sensitivity (dazzled by bright sunlight)

Ability Modifiers:

+2 Strength
-2 Charisma

Skill Modifiers: None
Level Adjustment: 0

Half-Elf:
Special Qualities:

+4 bonus on saves vs. sleep effects
+2 bonus on saves vs. enchantment

Low-light vision
Ability Modifiers:

+1 Dexterity
-2 Constitution
+1 Charisma

Skill Modifiers:

+1 Listen
+1 Search
+1 Spot

Half-Halfling (Quarterling?)
Size: Small or Medium, depending on size of base creature
Special Qualities:

+1 morale bonus on saves vs. fear
+1 attack bonus with thrown weapons

Ability Modifiers:

+2 Dexterity
-2 Strength

Skill Modifiers:

+1 Climb
+1 Jump
+1 Listen
+1 Move Silently

Half-Gnome:
Special Qualities:

+1 bonus on saves vs. illusions

Low-light vision

+2 dodge bonus to Armor Class vs. giants and giantkin
Speak with Animals 1/week (burrowing animals only)
Prestidigitation 1/day

Ability Modifiers:

+1 Constitution