PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a good hook for an evil party.

DPUNKSTAR
2013-09-11, 01:30 PM
Hi been visiting this site for a while but this is my first time asking for advice on here, I am going to be running a ninth level evil party but I'm drawing a bit of a blank on a good campaign. I was hoping for some suggestions on what to run. The party currently consist of one spell scale eldritch theurge with a flair or fiendish and draconic money only rivaled by his greed, a black guard follower of hextor who loves slaughter but a demon has a claim on his soul. We have one more character joining in. Any help is greatly appreciated.

CarpeGuitarrem
2013-09-11, 01:41 PM
I'm trying to make a joke about your use of "good" in this context, but it's eluding me.

Take a look at the motivations, and you can drill down from there.

The theurge's player probably wants stories where their character can pursue great wealth. The blackguard probably wants stories with either slaughter or ones that would help loosen the claim the demon has on them. Being that there's only two characters there, you can use those as starting blocks for the "issues" of the campaign.

If it's 9th Level, both of those goals should be possible, at least within the grand scope of things by the end. So figure out how opportunities to achieve those goals could be presented to the characters, and figure out how they can generate complications.

After all, money has to belong to someone before it can be stolen. Also, obligations to powerful beings (like the blackguard's) can't be dodged so easily.

Yora
2013-09-11, 01:47 PM