PDA

View Full Version : Flying and Gliding feats.

iwantmyjetpack
2013-09-22, 04:15 PM
Are they mutually exclusive?

I have put a project of mine on hold until i can get this answered. What i have been lead to beleave is this: If your race has wings, you have to take the fly feat to fly. But if you want to be able to glide, you have to have the glide feat as well.

With some Dnd creatures, i can see this. So does the average bird have glide and flight as feats? Because i think the bird/race with big wings should be able to glide without the feat.

Take it away people. If i have to, i'll build racial levels, but if i can i'd like to keep it at LA1.

EDIT: If there is a difference between how this works in 3.5 and Pathfinders, please explain and clarify.

Palanan
2013-09-22, 08:59 PM
I'm not an expert on flight mechanics, in-game or real-life, but I've never heard anything about a creature with wings needing to take a feat called "Fly." I've never heard of it, and looking at the 3.5 Feat Index (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/lists/feats), there doesn't seem to be one listed.

I've also never seen either of these feats included in the stats for creatures in the Monster Manuals, nor anywhere else. If a creature has functional wings, by definition it can fly; it doesn't need to spend a feat slot to verify what its body plan already allows. For examples, take a look at the eagle (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/eagle.htm), owl (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/owl.htm), and raven (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/raven.htm) from the SRD.

Has someone been telling you these feats exist? If so, where are they supposed to be from?

Fako
2013-09-22, 09:20 PM
No race in D&D that has inherent flight requires a feat to fly, or to glide. You might be thinking of the Raptoran race, which has Gliding as a racial feature, followed by an upgrade to Flight at 5 HD.