PDA

View Full Version : Owlbear's Twice-Removed Cousin [Creature Concept]

Maroon
2006-12-31, 01:04 PM
So, I'm kind of new to this thing. I'm also bad with numbers, so I wonder if any feels like statting this creature out.

Molebear

"Are you sure we didn't take a wrong turn?" Carol asked, examining the damp tunnel.
"I'm... pretty sure this is the right one," Yartez answered. "It's a bit wetter than I remember, and a bit muddier, and I guess a bit unstable, but I'm reasonably sure this is the secret tunnel to the castle."
"Reasonably sure?" Carol replied, glancing at the warrior. "It looks as if we're under a body of water of sorts. And this tunnel is certainly not man-made." She stopped to listen, and went on: "Do you hear that? Some kind of rumbling, as if something is digging... and its coming this way."
The other could hear it now, and feel it as well, a deep thumping, growing closer and closer. Sand started dropping from the ceiling.
"Not good," Carol said, just before something large burst out of the wall a few yards ahead.
At first glance, it looked like a huge, black badger, mud and sand streaming from his shimmering fur. When it noticed the group of adventurers, it walked closer, and they could discern it had an ursine posture, but possessing mole-like forelimbs. It had a pink snout, and hardly noticable eyes.
It growled.
"Not good indeed," Stennis Longleaf said, "but at least we know what made these tunnels. I hope we'll be able to tell other people about it."
Yartez held up his torch, and as he did so, the creature groaned and stumbled back, away from the torch.
"Hey, it's afraid of fire," Yartez said to his companions. He started driving the mole-like beast back through the tunnel.
"It's probably sensitive to light, Yartez," Carol corrected him. "And I don't think it's very wise to do that-"