PDA

View Full Version : Technical Interviews (Seeking Advice)

Neftren
2013-10-18, 10:32 AM
So I just went through a particularly brutal technical interview with a company that makes a high-level numerical computing environment that begins with M, and is matrix based (you can guess which of the three companies that is).

I was first asked a variety of discrete math problems which I wasn't particularly apt at solving -- likely my fault, as I studied up on data structures and algorithm design over discrete math. Then the interviewer proceeded to ask me a variety of questions on general programming concepts, which I did reasonably well on. Then the huge curveball was when I started to get a ton of language specific concepts related to a language that isn't on my résumé. I'd also made it clear I wasn't very familiar with this language, but the questions persisted. :smallfurious: I get the feeling the interviewer hadn't even read my résumé, and was just told to "interview" me by the manager.

Any tips or thoughts on how to deal with this? Or just technical interviews in general?

I admit, I'm pretty new to the whole technical interviewing thing, but I've gone through two other interviews now with major software companies and the questions I asked weren't nearly as difficult or specific to elements or features of one specific language.

Palanan
2013-10-18, 10:45 AM
Well, you have my sympathy for surviving a tough interview. Wish I could offer something more.

I've gone through plenty of rough interviews, but never one that was quite such a technically focused grilling. Maybe it's because of my field; I've been asked general questions on experimental design, but what you describe sounds like a mini-qualifer, with all the stress and misery that entails. Is this the norm in computing fields?

Originally Posted by Neftren