PDA

View Full Version : Good drawing style for Webcomic?

ufo
2007-01-12, 03:15 PM
Hello. Well, the short version is that i have the perfect plot for a webcomic laid out.

HOWEVER!

I am not a very good drawer, especially not on computer.

I'm not good with OotS style figures, really (see my sig for reference, my best yet is Dollar's avatar, look it up if you want). Thus, i would like to use that as a last resort, but, then, does anybody have another "style" of drawing on computer (don't own a scanner, god damned)? Preferably not too complicated (complicated as in 2 hours to make one figure).

For reference, i use Adobe Illustrator CS2.

(And, please, no "omghax u are so lzy u dnt wnt 2 mak ur own style!!!!111oneone")

oriong
2007-01-12, 06:13 PM
Well, honestly there really is no style that is 'good' because you still have to learn to do it, no style is going to just allow you to pop out things without practice, you start out weak and you eventually learn what you're doing that's pretty much it.

The absolute simplest styles that work purely with the computer are:

Sprite style Comics: you copy sprites or other images from some existing source and use them (perhaps with various poses) to make your characters. Some of the obvious examples of this are 8-bit theatre, and bob and george.

Abstract Style: In this case the 'characters' are just simple geometric shapes, blobs, balls of light, etc, possibly with very simple features (a circle with two dots and a line is a face). Probably the best example of this is http://www.reasonedcognition.com/

Even if there is minimal actual art involved in both these styles they won't be instantly mastered either. Things like composition, background, fitting dialogue, and basic coloring are all an issue. You also have to deal with the fact that many people won't take these styles seriously especially in a plot based webcomic, sprite comics especially have a lot of detractors.