PDA

View Full Version : Play by Post / Forum / Email campaigns?

TheZoobler
2013-12-15, 11:50 AM
How do they work? Let me elaborate.

I'm pretty new to DnD. I've always been extremely interested in giving it a shot, whether its because of comics like OOTS or DnD-based games and books or just paging through the rulebooks in stores and absorbing all the monster, class, race, deity/etc fluff text. The concept and systems of DnD fascinate me, and I love roleplaying in the MMOs that I play (a pale imitation, I know). So, I've always been wanting to dig in and go through a campaign.

Well, I tried 3.5e in middle school, but only the DM and I really cared about it whatsoever so our group didn't last more than two sessions. Years later my then-current different group of friends bought a bunch of 4e rulebooks and tried that, but again, I and one (or two, it was hard to tell) were the only people interested in a truly epic roleplaying and gaming session and everyone else got bored and left after trying it for months. Very disappointing, as I bought a *ton* of 4e core books and supplements, hoping that the group would stick together. Years later *again*, the books are collecting dust on my shelf, occasionally being looked through for fun.

TL;DR
So I'm curious to try an online campaign, whether it be by forum thread or email or whatever other methods exist. I'd be playing 4e, because I have just a pile of books from that edition. There are some questions about this:

-Where should I go and what format is best for an online campaign group? Especially if I'm kind of a beginner. These forums? Other forums?

-All I really know about online campaigns is that they're usually carried out via forum or e-mail. Doesn't that make things move at a glacial pace, as each player posts/emails their action, one by one, waiting for the next to take their turn?