PDA

View Full Version : D&D Tool for download/testing

Carthax
2014-01-26, 10:39 PM
edited 2/26/14 @ 9:10AM
This new version contains numerous under-the-hood bug fixes -- the app should be much less prone to crashing

For those who don't like using pen and paper for your pen and paper d20 games, I propose a new solution:

D&D Tools!

This is an application that I have been working on for almost 3 years, as I have been teaching myself how to program in VB.Net. It contains the following:

* A Dice Roller with 20 configurable Roll buttons, using securely-generated random numbers
* An Initiative Roller that shows the bonus, current roll and history for each character in the list, automatically sorts the list by Current Initiative, AND provides 5 counters for every character (handy for when you don't want to have to write down the number of rounds left before that secondary poison will affect the character!) -- each character is saved out to an encrypted XML file after each roll
* A Journal with fields for Date, Group and Event
* A Fumble Roller with 49 entries (modify fumbles.dat to add/remove/modify existing fumbles!)
* A Character Generator which currently provides a method to roll Stat Dice, but will eventually be built into a full-on character generator
* An Object Picker which allows you to select criteria to pull Spell, Creature, and Item information from the included database - I find it faster than referencing the PHB/DMG. It also will allow you to create a random encounter of a specific level, and (optionally) of a specific alignment.

Files are here (https://www.dropbox.com/sh/5x3or48gwxpkv1j/UPVNZQnwsG)

Included files (Updated!):

* Dice.dll 24Kb
* Dnd Tool.exe 218Kb
* DnD.sdf 40,576Kb
* Fumbles.dat 5Kb
* SSCERuntime_x64-ENU.exe 2,560Kb
* SSCERuntime_x86-ENU.exe 2,324Kb

Keep all the files in one folder.
Run "DnD Tool.exe" to use the program, naturally.