PDA

View Full Version : How to build a steampunk adventure.

McSmack
2014-02-10, 04:50 PM
I recently picked up the Pure Steam 3rd party suppliment for PF and I'm planning on running a game in the next couple of weeks. But I'm coming up with a lot of writer's block trying to develop interesting encounters that fit the theme. I've never done steampunk before and although I've got quite a bit of DM experience and I've read the book, I still feel a little out of my depth. Anyone mind critiqueing my ideas and giving feedback/suggestions?

The campaign is set in Second City - which is analagous to turn of the century Chicago. (I stole the basic plot from a forum post made years ago) The villain is a mad scientist and anarchist who is buying/stealing the bodies of the recently deceased and bringing them back to life with a Frankenstein-esque device. The corpses have just enough intelligence to follow orders. Planted inside each is an alchemical bomb. They are ordered to go to a specific location or a specific person and drink a potion which sets off a chain reaction...and BOOM! Early on these bombers are being used to target local industrialists with political ties (the council of industrialists pretty much rules the city through corruption). The scientist is planning on upping the ante soon by having a large number of these bombers set themselves off during a World's Science Exposition in a few months. With even bigger things to come.

The PC's are hired to investigate. They can find clues through forensic evidence (alchemical traces on the bodies), tracking down the connections of the victims (they all worked for the same company and made a lot of money by stealing the villain's father's research) or by interviewing witnesses, some of which recognize the bombers as recently deceased loved ones.